ASU’s orchestras provide high-level training for music majors and minors as well as opportunities for non-music majors to continue playing at the college level.

Home / Orchestras / ASU Gammage Beyond and ASU Symphony Orchestra

ASU Gammage Beyond and ASU Symphony Orchestra

ASU Symphony Orchestra, ASU School of Music and ASU Gammage Beyond announces Carlos Simon as the winner of the 2019 ASU Gammage Beyond and ASU Symphony Orchestra Commission Competition. Many congratulations to Mr. Carlos and many thanks to our jury: Kotoka Suzuki, Jody Rockmaker, Gabriela Lena Frank, Daniel Roumain, and Michael Morgan.

Commission Competition

ASU Gammage Beyond Series, the ASU School of Music and the ASU Symphony Orchestra seek an emerging composer, whose artistic or cultural identity will contribute to expanding classical music’s reflection of the diversity of contemporary American society, to write a new work for orchestra to be premiered by the ASU Symphony Orchestra at ASU Gammage in the fall of 2019.

Applications from composers of traditionally underrepresented communities and backgrounds are encouraged to apply.


The concert will be an innovative mix of world premiere commissions, arrangements, and performances of new music dedicated towards activism, social justice, protest, and healing.

From a symphony exploring the DACA debate, to arrangements of songs calling for peace, the composers and performers here all share a common creative thread that innovates the traditional symphonic experience into an immersive world of ideas for the audience through a thrilling mix of creative programming, staging, video projection, and theatrical design.


Composers who are North American residents and under the age of 40 at the time of application will be eligible for consideration. Composers must be available to attend at least one rehearsal and the performance as well as be willing (and enthusiastic) to interact with the audience, orchestra, press and featured artists.


The winning composer will be awarded the following:

  1. One $5,000.00 commission for a 10 minute work for full symphony orchestra to be premiered on October 5, 2019 by the ASU Symphony Orchestra, Jeffery Meyer conductor, as part of ASU Gammage Beyond Series.

  2. Round-trip economy airfare to Phoenix

  3. Accommodation

  4. Per diem


Composers are asked to submit the following via the online submission form below by the receipt deadline:

  1. Three professionally-prepared sample scores (at least one orchestral score) PDF format only.

  2. If available the composer may submit accompanying performance/reading recordings in MP3 format. Links to videos of performances/readings are also acceptable.

  3. Resume/C.V., including three to five professional references if possible

  4. A link to a short video of the composer (1-3 minutes long) articulating their creative vision for the music they write and the role their music might play in local and national communities.

Please observe the following file name formats:

Score PDF file(s): [Surname]_[Name]_[work title].pdf

Recording MP3 file(s): [Surname]_[ Name]_[work title].mp3

Text PDF files: [Surname]_[ Name]_[resume)].pdf

Apply Here



Finalists will be selected by December 10, 2018.

The winner of the commission prize will be announced by December 17, 2018.

The winning composer must submit a completed draft of the newly composed full score by June 1, 2019 and a finalized full score and parts in PDF format to the ASU Symphony librarian by August 1, 2019. There may be suggested or requested revisions to the score after the review period between June 1 and August 1.


All submissions will be reviewed by the First-Round Selection Panel (in alphabetical order):

Jeffery Meyer, Director of Orchestra, ASU School of Music

Michael Morgan, Music Director, Oakland Symphony

Jody Rockmaker, Composer, ASU School of Music

Daniel Roumain, Institute Professor, ASU School of Music

Kotoka Suzuki, Composer, ASU School of Music

Final Round Selection Panel:

Gabriela Lena Frank, Composer-in-Residence, Philadelphia Orchestra

Co-Artistic Directors, Daniel Bernard Roumain and Jeffery Meyer