Venues and Facilities

ASU Herberger Institute School of Music facilities are among the best-designed in the nation. 

Home / About / Venues + Facilities / Practice Rooms
Video: 

Practice Rooms

Overview: 

Practice rooms are available without charge to all ASU School of Music majors and non-majors enrolled in ensemble or performance classes. These are located on the south corridor of the first floor of the West Building, and on the third and fifth floors of the East Building. Each room is equipped with a piano, a table, and a music stand. Please place all items: bags, cases, drinks, etc. on the table provided in the practice room. Do not place anything on the piano. Students should also have their own music stands for chamber music rehearsals that require more than one stand.

Summer Session Practice Room Rental

Arizona State University students, faculty and staff can rent access to the practice rooms during summer session. Click here to purchase SunCard access to the School of Music practice rooms (dates and rental fees below).

Summer 2019

Session AMay 20-June 27$80
Session BJuly 3-Aug 13$80
Sessions A + BMay 20-Aug 13$160
Session CMay 20-July 11$150

Off-Campus Music Rehearsal Spaces

We frequently receive requests for access to our practice rooms and rehearsal spaces from members of the community who are not currently affiliated with the School of Music. While we are delighted to know of the many people engaging in music and seeking rehearsal space, we unfortunately have very limited practice space and must reserve this space for our students who are paying tuition and extra fees to utilize our spaces. We have 50 practice rooms and over 750 music majors and non-majors enrolled in lessons, and we are not in a position to grant access to individuals not enrolled in music classes.

Here is a list of rehearsal studios that rent space in the Tempe metropolitan area:

Band Oasis Rehearsal Studios
Mind’s Eye Rehearsal Studios
Perfect Timing
Premier Studios
SER Soundworks
Underdog Studios

ADDRESS

Music Building (East Building Third and Fifth Floor, West Building First Floor)
50 Gammage Parkway
Tempe, AZ 85281

Get directions

HOURS

Access by electronic card reader 24 hours per day.

Experience the Space

Technical Specification: 

Unsanctioned teaching by students in University facilities is strictly prohibited by the Arizona Board of Regents (Policy 5-303 Prohibited Conduct #16 and Policy 5-308 Student Code of Conduct F. #9) and subject to disciplinary action. Unsanctioned teaching includes but is not limited to any instruction (e.g. private lessons or classes) for personal income using School of Music practice rooms, classrooms, and/or instruments. In addition, the following is excerpted from the ASU Academic Affairs Manual ACD 123 Misuse of University Assets policy:

 ASU is responsible for the appropriate use of its assets. In substantiated cases of misuse of those assets, it is the policy of the university to obtain full restitution, to impose administrative sanctions, and to refer violations of criminal statutes for prosecution. “University assets” are items of tangible or intangible property owned by ASU [and] include buildings, equipment, furniture. “Misuse” includes the illegal use of university assets that result in gain to the individual or a third party and no benefit to the university. Examples include but are not limited to using university assets for personal or non-ASU purposes; acts that reduce the value of university assets, and have not been expressly authorized by ASU.

Please observe basic security while using practice rooms. Do not leave personal items unattended and check for personal belongings when you vacate the room.

 

 

 

 

 

 

PARKING

Parking: 

Decal Lots: FREE on non-event weekends. No decal is required EXCEPT in Residence and Restricted lots. 
Metered Parking:
 All meters at the Tempe campus require payment from 7 a.m. – 10 p.m., Monday–Saturday. Meters are $1.50 per hour, with a maximum of either one- or two-hour parking.
Pay-By-Space Lots:
 In effect 7 a.m. – 10 p.m., Monday–Saturday. Pay at pay machine. $2/hour.
Visitor Lots:
 Available from 6 a.m. – 10:30 p.m., Monday–Friday. $2-3/hour, $8-12/day.
Disability Parking:
 Available in all parking areas.

Parking Map